Hell on Wheels (or the Super-Whining of a Working Mom)

The full effect of being a working mom did not hit me until today.  For many moms, today was the first day of school.  For me, it was the first day of hell on wheels. 

Up until today, I have been spoiled.  Very, very spoiled.  My MIL has been coming to my house and keeping Baby Girl while the husband and I earn a living.  It’s been a good, no GREAT, arrangement.  Not only has she watched Baby Girl, she did our laundry…and folded it…and cooked…and cleaned.  I could cry right now thinking how incredibly awesome that arrangement was. 

However, we don’t pay grandma (MIL) enough for her to give up her day job to take care of Baby Girl.  We would if we could, but we simply can’t afford it.  So, grandma went back to her day job today as a school bus driver and I made a 50+mile round trip commute to her house.  Once there, the great-grandparents will watch Baby Girl until MIL finishes her bus route every morning. 

Big Problem

The trip to MIL’s house every morning is no problem.  The real problem is getting from there, back to work.  We live near the home offices for the nation’s largest retailer.   The time I need to travel through is the time EVERYONE in the area is heading to work.  And they all pretty much work at the same freakin’ place.  The trip should take 1 hr. 10 min. total.  NOTE:  IT DID NOT take 1 hr. and 10 min.  Nope. I left my house at 6:40 am and arrived at work at 8:40am.  Work starts at 8:00am.  Obviously, something is going to have to change. 

The Solution?

I’m not sure yet.  I’m thinking I should leave my house 30 min. earlier (yay) and wait to put on my makeup after I get to work.  The wall of traffic is on the return trip, so if I can get a bit ahead of it, maybe I won’t be so late to work.  My firm is understanding, but let’s face it, they aren’t paying me to cart my kid around.  I’m a salaried worker and time not at work means time they are paying me to do nothing.

I’d prefer to drive a tank or a small personal aircraft.  Since the government probably would frown upon my stealing a tank and technology has not advanced as fast as I’d hoped, I guess I’ll keep slogging along in my car.

Leave a Reply

